Help with 338LM With 270gr. ELD-X?

This forum is for discussion of all reloading-related topics. Sponsored by Shooting Shed-UK

Moderators: deerhunter338mag, Vaughan, stokesrj

R8-338LM

Help with 338LM With 270gr. ELD-X?

Post by R8-338LM »

Hello,

Quite some time ago I ordered my 338LM barrel. Now after 4 months it's finally here!

The also ordered Hornady ELD-x ammo on the other hand is nowhere to be seen and Hornady will not give a delivery date...

So the Gunshop suggested to have them loaded for me. I do not reload myself, I am a total newbe to this. But after reading a lot of info I have decided on a few things.

Brass Lapua.
Powder H1000
Bullet Hornady 270gr. ELD-X
Primers cci Benchrest (Or should I go for an other primer? As this is not a magnum primer but was chosen by the gunsmith?)

Does anyone have any experience with this load? As I have to travel 600km to pick up all my gear and test a few loads, I would like to be as prepared as I can get.

Any/all info on this load is much appreciated. But What I would like to Know most of all is a good starting point for the test and what load to work up to? I will add the Hornady load ammo here:
Untitled.png
AS for COAL I read this by the moderator on the forum: "But I found with Blaser barrels 15 to 20thou will shoot great" So I will stick to that, I guess.

Anything else I have to look out for?

Looking forward to your answers!

Thanks in advance! JJ

Blaser R8 professional succes.
338LM match barrel.
IOR 4-28x50.
Terminator T4 muzzle break.
Harris bipod.
Yes I am lugging this heavy piece of a gun into the mountains... Already working out for it! :lol:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

deerhunter338mag
Global Moderator

Re: Help with 338LM With 270gr. ELD-X?

Post by deerhunter338mag »