Hello - Central Highlands Victoria, Australia.

A place where new members can introduce themselves.

Moderators: deerhunter338mag, pagosawingnut

AussieR8Black

Hello - Central Highlands Victoria, Australia.

Post by AussieR8Black »

Hello all,

I'm new to Blaser and here is a quick rundown of how I got here.

My lovely wife bought me a R8 Black Edition in 270win yesterday. We went in to buy me a shooting stick for Father's Day and walked out owning a Blaser. It wasn't quite what I was expecting but I am super excited and can't wait to pick it up. I have been looking for a new rifle for a while and was dreaming of a Blaser but never thought I could afford or justify the expense. About three weeks ago I went into my local gunshop and asked a guy who owns multiple R93s what he thought of them. Obviously he was giving them high praise. He then asked what cal I wanted and I told him 9.3 x 62. As luck would have it he had a brand new unfired second hand R8 Black Edition in 270 for sale, there were other bits and pieces with it as well inlcuding a 223 barrel. Unfortunately I couldn't stretch the wife's generosity to include the 223.

The price was right, and by right I mean crazy. I told my wife and the answer was no, no way, no chance. Ok I'll save up for it.

Fast forward to yesterday and she says go, couldn't believe my luck.

So now the plan is to work out how to get the coin to buy the 9.3 x 62 as my second barrel and then dream of a third. I am looking to sell one of my rifles to help raise some cash and I have a bonus and some back pay coming my way. I hope to divert these funds directly to the 9.3. Here's hoping anyway.

I have spent a few hours on the forum today and it is a wealth of information.

Thanks for letting me join this community.

Cheers, Steve.

mchughcb

Re: Hello - Central Highlands Victoria, Australia.

Post by mchughcb »

Welcome and im sure the 270 will do for at least a year before you get itch like everyone and start yearning for more lol!