6xc

A place to discuss subjects related to those who prefer to take those longer shots. Sponsored by European Long Range Hunting and EuroOptic

Moderators: deerhunter338mag, stokesrj, trazman

Corjack
Administrator

6xc

Post by Corjack »

Had a Blaser 6xc barrel for a few years now . Decided to try a 6mm for PRS this year. I have been collecting parts for the last three months .

Blue printed 700 body.
PTG fluted bolt small firing pin.
Badger bolt knob.
26 inch Criterian varmint contour 6xc barrel 7.5 twist.
APA little batturd brake.
KRG Bravo stock.
1# Triggertech Trigger. (Not in yet)

I have a Manners PRS 1 on order due in the end of March. I grabbed one of the new KRG Bravo stocks with the same backbone as my Whisky 3 chassis. 400.00 retail. I really like it. For a cheap stock I see no reason a fellow could not compete with it. When the Manners gets in, I will swap it out to a Creedmoor that I am also working on.

I got home from Dallas Safari Club show, with a bad cold. Layed around last couple days. Ran over to a buddy's, and used his hydraulic press and action wrench to install and headspace the barrel yesterday. Got home and mounted a scope, and kinda got it on paper at 100 yards. Shot about a dozen rounds through it, but could not help but notice it was shooting well. These were odd and ends of ammo loaded for the R8 Blaser.

Today I shot 9 rounds out of it before I got rained out today. 105 Berger Hybrids.
RL16,

37.3 grains
37.6 grains 2989 fps 13 es.
37.9 grains

The neck bushing I have is .268. It is not giving me much neck tension. Think I need a 267. The first load went a bit under .5, the second went into one hole, the third, went well under a half. Pictures are of the second and third groups. Got about 20 more Berger in this box, and then I will switch to 110 SMKs and 115 DTAKs.

Looks like it will be very cooperative. Kicks like a 22 magnum.
IMG_3755.JPG
IMG_3754.JPG
IMG_3753.JPG